New Writers Awards Applications Open

Sian Bevan
Communications & Community Support
Edinburgh City of Literature Trust

20 May 2021

The Scottish Book Trust’s New Writers Awards have opened for applications again, ready to find a new cohort of creative talent in Scotland. Writers based in Scotland who are working on fiction, narrative non-fiction, poetry, children’s or young adult fiction can now apply for one of the most valued talent development schemes around.

The New Writers Award has helped progress the careers of some of Scotland’s most exciting literary talent, including Kirstin Innes, Mallachy Tallack, Graeme McCrae Burnett and Kirsty Logan. The prize package includes a £2,000 cash award, personal development opportunities and a week long retreat to get some deep focus on that big writing project. An Access Fund is also available to help remove any barriers to participation, including caring responsibilities or accessibility concerns.

Entries are welcome in English or Scots, and there are two awards for Gaelic writers.

Applications are due in by Wednesday 14 July, with full details of how to apply on the Scottish Book Trust website. Good luck!